Thoughts on Meeting a Legend

On Memorial Day weekend,  I was fortunate enough to attend the concert of a legend.  In case you haven’t noticed, many of our beloved legends are dying off.  Just recently we said good-bye to Dennis Hopper, Lena Horne, and Peter Faulk.  I was fortunate enough to meet John Ritter and Charlie Shedd before their demise and for that I am grateful.

The legend I heard was the famous or infamous Jerry Lee Lewis known as “Killer.”  Although he is well into his 70s that voice and piano style is unmistakable.  Jerry’s gait is a little bent but his performance was as good as I remembered from my teens.  The audience of twenty somethings to baby boomers let enthusiasm reign when “Great Balls of Fire” and “Whole Lotta Shakin’ ” came around.  We clapped, danced, laughed and celebrated a great entertainer.

It got me to thinking about other legendary figures in my life.  Little Richard performed in this very concert hall a few months back and so did Loretta Lynn.  With their fortunes made, these performers have no need to travel and entertain an audience.  But it is who they are.

As a writer, I f eel the same.  If I won the lottery today and didn’t have to write another word EVER.  I would because I must, it’s part of who I am.  That realization gives energy when you are spent, hope when you are emotionally bankrupt, and peace trusting that WHO  you are is more important than WHAT you do.

Meeting a legends is seeing a person doing what they love.  And even if I am never a celebrated figure I can join their tribe.

One thought on “Thoughts on Meeting a Legend

  1. If I won the lottery, all I would do is write, but I realize that you’re likely including assignments and pieces you might not do on your own time.

Leave a Reply

